Fermata (NaPoWriMo Day 20)

Standard

I’m taking a poetry workshop with Dorianne Laux and Joseph Millar at the Raleigh Review this weekend. Here’s a draft from this afternoon; the prompt was to write a “waiting” poem.

Fermata

Waiting at the end of the driveway
after my weekly piano lesson
I tuck my mittened hands in my pockets
music pressed against my side

Waiting at the end of the driveway
after my Tuesday night piano lesson
I shift side to side gently cracking
the layers of ice over air over concrete

Waiting at the end of the driveway
after my 5pm piano lesson
I labor to be patient with my mother
who often forgets one of us (at least it’s not the rest stop)

Waiting at the end of the driveway
after my 30-minute piano lesson and
the next student’s 30-minute piano lesson
I return in the dark to the back door

My teacher’s kind phone call is no honey for my chagrin
no salve for my embarrassment from
waiting at the end of the driveway
after my (let’s face it) mediocre piano lesson

Leave a Reply

